Communist Governments In South Yemen

Table of Contents in the Asian Legal Encyclopedia

Communist Governments in South Yemen in Asia

Communism: Communist Governments in Other Regions Middle East South Yemen

The southern section of the present-day Republic of Yemen, on the Arabian Peninsula, was from 1967 to 1990 a Soviet-aligned country. Great Britain had administered the area as a colony (known as the Aden Protectorates and later the Federation of South Arabia), but British troops withdrew in 1967 after challenges from guerrilla groups. The National Liberation Front (NLF), which endorsed a Marxist ideology, took control of the government and proclaimed the People’s Republic of South Yemen, known commonly as South Yemen. The country was renamed the People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen (PDRY) in 1970. The NLF instituted a socialist regime, drawing economic aid from the USSR. In the 1970s violence flared between South Yemen and North Yemen, known officially as the Yemen Arab Republic. But the two Yemeni governments cooperated during the 1980s and in 1990 reunited as the Republic of Yemen. In 1993 multiparty elections were held.

In this Section: Communism in China Development, Communism in China Under Mao, Communism in China After Mao, Communist Governments in Mongolia, Communist Governments in Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos, Communist Governments in North Korea, Communist Governments in Afghanistan and Communist Governments in South Yemen. (1)


Notes and References

  1. Encarta Online Encyclopedia

See Also

Leave a Comment